A Guide to Brand Image for Developers

I’ve been building for about 3 years, and within those 3 years I’ve made a lot of mistakes and dealt with a variety of different clients. In this guide, I’ll share some knowledge I learned down the road which will hopefully help you to avoid the endless list of mistakes I made.

This advice is situational, meaning it doesn’t apply to everyone. If you’re a hobbyist like I am you can break most of the advice on this list and probably get away with it.

1. Roblox Account

Username

One of the many mistakes I made was changing my username. Way too much. I’ve had a total of 5 usernames. To this day, some of the commission sheets I send to clients have my old usernames on them. There’s always that one client that questions if I stole monorust’s, or monomorphosis’, or TheCardMechanic’s work. Don’t impulsively change your username like I did.

That being said, your username may be worth changing if it’s something extremely forgettable and generic like “Andrew42592.” It would be awful if a potential client impressed with your work went to sleep and wakes up Googling every zip code in Kentucky trying to remember your name. Make your username something easy to remember, like ColdFridge or FatFrog or something (it can be stupid like mine). It might take weeks finding an available username your satisfied with, but it’s certainly worth it.

Same deal with usernames. There’s a reason that when you see this item you immediately think of someone I don’t even have to name because you already know who he is. And there’s a reason that when you hear his name, you immediately think of his avatar. Because he has a very memorable username and an iconic avatar; both of which he practically never changes.

If you have the Beautiful Hair—2.0—Adidas Sweatshirt—Skeptic Face combo, it might be worth a change. Make sure your avatar is not generic and default-looking.