A No-Frills introduction to Session Systems and Efficient Management of Data

I have seen a lot of people getting confused on how to efficiently manage and save data, so I thought I’d go over the theory and basics behind it.
I am by no means an expert, so take this with a grain of salt.
Feel free to correct or improve any of my points!

So, What is a Session System?
We’ll trim over the basics first.

A session usually refers to limited communication time between a client and the server.
For instance, having a temporary table of the player’s data when they’re in the game.
Whenever a player leaves, the connection gets cut off, and thus the session ends.

Visualized in code, it would look like this (my usage of semi-colons is just a preference, please don’t mind it);

local Players = game:GetService'Players';
local sessionData = {};

Players.PlayerAdded:Connect(function(Player)
    --// Player joined, create a new session!
    sessionData[Player.UserId] = {};
end);
Players.PlayerRemoving:Connect(function(Player)
    --// Player left, remove the player's session.
    sessionData[Player.UserId] = nil;
end);

Now, how can this be useful?
Well, data stores have a max upload limit (not to mention it’s yield).
This means that updating the data store directly each time a player does anything would result in an instant clogging of the data store.

The concept of data stores is simple - update a player’s value in our temporary session data table!
Tables obviously wouldn’t over-clog anything, and they’re very efficient!

The concept of session systems is very simple, and it’s point is to reduce clogging to a minimum.
You would only have to use the data store twice - getting the player’s data when they join, and saving the player’s data when they leave.

Visualized, it would look like this;

local Players = game:GetService'Players';
local dataStoreService = game:GetService'DataStoreService';
local exampleStore = dataStoreService:GetDataStore'Example Store';