After the player plays for certain minutes, they can go into a door. Well, the door won't work. Help!

I am a newbie scripter so I am still understanding and trying to script. When the player reaches a certain time, lets say 1 minute, I want them to be able to access a door. I already have the minutes played script written, but do I put

minutes == 1 then
game.Workspace.Door.Touched:Connect(onTouch)
 CanCollide = true
end

The part name is door. Help will be greatly appreciated as I am a beginner. Thanks!

1 Like

your script doesn’t make sense, I will make a beginner script of what I think you want to do:

local Player = game.Players.LocalPlayer
local Char = Player.Character or Player.CharacterAdded:Wait()
local JoinTime = os.time()

workspace.Door.Touched:Connect(function(hit)
        hit = game.Players:GetPlayerFromCharacter(hit.Parent)
        if hit ~= Player then return end
        if os.time() - JoinTime => 60*1 then -- Change 1 to the minutes you want
               workspace.Door.CanCollide = false
               wait(2)
               workspace.Door.CanCollide = true
        end
end)

I don’t tested this script, it can error, put it in a LocalScript in StarterPlayerScripts

1 Like

Here:

repeat wait(1) time = time + 1 until time == 60
workspace.Door.Touched:Connect(function()
end)

Here are the problems with your script:

1. You don’t have an if before the minutes.
  2. You need to repeat a wait() function until one minute passes.
  3. onTouch is connected to nothing. You need to connect it to a function (i.e function onTouch().
  4. You didn’t add what CanCollide is being modified on.
  5. CanCollide is being set to true!

You will need to use a LocalScript to change the CanCollide of a Door just for that player, otherwise after one minute, any player can also walk through.
In that case:

local Players = game:GetService("Players")
local Player = Players.LocalPlayer

delay(60, function()
end)
1 Like

You don’t assigned time, and it will error

1 Like