Alternatives to Beveling on Blender?

So I’m new to Blender and haven’t learned the entire program yet, but what I have learned is the bevel function (ctrl-b) really messes up the faces of a mesh when I use it, so much so that I’ve had to scrap a project and start all over again. I don’t want the mesh to just be flat and I know that it needs some beveling to make it look decent, but is there a different, less glitchy method to beveling than the ctrl-b function?

1 Like

I’m not quite sure what kind of model you’re doing, but the bevel tool is the quickest way to get a good bevel on a non-complex object, or if you want to select each edge separately, it usually the easiest on a complex object.

If you’re doing something more complex, then you have a few options:

• Subdivide Surface modifier

This mod doesn’t so much “bevel” as rounds your entire object. It doesn’t let you pick which edges to apply it to like Bevel

• Extrude and shrink

You can make a custom bevel by extruding the face (E) and sizing it down (S).

If you show us your model, we might be able to help more :slight_smile:

2 Likes

This is the last one that I done, image
It was just too complex in some areas for the bevel tool to do it cleanly.

1 Like

There are several ways to bevel an edge in Blender, if you’re rendering in Blender, but most of them–when used correctly–are just different means to the same end if you’re exporting to FBX or OBJ for import into Roblox. If things look “messed up”, I recommend playing around with the smoothing options with vertex normals and per-face vertex normals turned on. Bad shading is usually an issue with normals, not the vertex geometry.

1 Like