Animation's not working on custom rig

hello, I got an Npc rig from the toolbox and deleted all script’s and the config folders to make my own, I use the “Humanoid:MoveTo()” function to move the Npc, the rig moves fine but the animation’s don’t play, here is a link to the rig Sword Fighting Ninja - Roblox I’m not good at the animation stuff so help would be greatly appreciated! The animation script is extremely simple Capture

4 Likes

Did you save the animation to Roblox via the AnimationEditor? You must be the owner of the animation for it to play in your games.

oh, no I didn’t I had my friend make it thanks

1 Like

I made it my own, but still nothing

You have your own assetID?

The last 2 lines are fine. Is “run” an animation object?

Yes “run” is an animation object in replicated storage

If it’s a group game. The animation must be under the group and not your profile. Also the joints of the player must all be the same, maybe enough are the same for :WalkTo but the rest are not for the animation to work. Try using animatingeditor on the customer, and importing your animation. If it doesn’t play you can see why and it might return an error.

It is an npc rig so the joint’s might not be the same, how would I check?

If the animation script is server side, try moving the animation folder to ServerStorage.

There is a very tricky “feature” regarding the replication of the animation object. While the game is playing, the assetID value in the animation object does not clone. I do not have this problem if I store animations for NPCs in serverstorage, and the animations still replicate to clients. When I was using replicatedstorage, I needed to use stringobjects and modify my code a little.

Take a screenshot of the parts inside the npc model. They should match the general R15 structure. Then in AnimationEditor, there should be a rig and the model should move when you play the animation. If it does, the rig is probably fine.