Asset ban Question?

I am fairly new to scripting so don’t judge me too much if this is a bad question. Is it possible to ban a certain part of the catalog (back accessories) in your game? If it is possible how would one go about doing this task? I know you can ban certain items, but I really don’t want to ban every back accessory on Roblox. If the question does not make sense, feel free to ask for clarification. Thank you in advance.

2 Likes

You could just make an array of the id’s, then check and make sure the accessory isn’t one of them

1 Like

Yes. Every accessory (if made right) will have a hierarchy in this fashion:

Accessory accessory
    Part Handle
        Attachment xAttachment

You want to focus on that xAttachment. The x is just a variable, since hats require an attachment name matching one in the character to be attachedproperly. In your case, your example was that you wanted to remove back accessories, so you’d be looking for accessories with a BodyBackAttachment instance in their handles.

Although you can handle this in many ways (including with the recursive argument of FindFirstChild), I prefer to be certain about what I’m doing, so I take a long route that ensures I’m looking at an attachment object. That’s where I use FindFirstChildOfClass.

Here’s a code sample that can remove BodyBackAttachments:

-- You could use string manipulation at some point to avoid writing
-- out "Attachment" per attachment type, potentially.
local BANNED_ACCESSORY_TYPES = {"BodyBackAttachment"}

for _, accessory in ipairs(humanoid:GetAccessories()) do
    -- We'll assume any and all accessories are constructed properly and not
    -- account for nonexistent handles.
    local attachment = accessory.Handle:FindFirstChildOfClass("Attachment")
    if attachment and table.find(BANNED_ACCESSORY_TYPES, attachment.Name) then
        accessory:Destroy()
    end
end
6 Likes