Auto Team players evenly

Hello I am a beginner Programer and I am making my first game! I am having trouble figuring out how I can automatically team players on a ‘Lobby Team’. I have three teams ‘Lobby Team’, ‘Blue Team’, and ‘Red Team’ I want to team players to ‘Red Team’ and ‘Blue Team’ Evenly Automatically.

I have been trying to get all the players in the game and give them a boolean value.

False = ‘Red Team,’ and True = ‘Blue Team’ But I don’t know how to give everyone a boolean value and how to use that value to switch their teams. (This is my first post so if I need to clarify below and I would be happy to respond.

How are players assigned to teams? Are players being automatically given a team when they join?

You can loop through the GetPlayers() method to get all the players. Then, you can assign them a team accordingly, by changing their Team property, and keep altering between the 2 teams, to make it even.

for i, plr in ipairs(game.Players:GetPlayers()) do
	if i%2 == 0 then -- this checks if the index is an even number
		plr.Team = game.Teams["Red Team"] -- if the index is even, assign them "Red Team"
	else
		plr.Team = game.Teams["Blue Team"] -- if the index is odd, assign them "Blue Team"
	end
end

Edit: to put players in the Lobby Team when they enter, just put Team.AutoAssignable on the Lobby Team to “true”

1 Like

I would create a function using the code that @FastKnight401 provided. You should then call it every time a player joins or leaves the game. This assures that the teams will automatically be evened.

It should look something like this.

function AutoTeam()
	for i, plr in ipairs(game.Players:GetPlayers()) do
			plr.Team = game.Teams["Red Team"] -- if the index is even, assign them "Red Team"
		else
			plr.Team = game.Teams["Blue Team"] -- if the index is odd, assign them "Blue Team"
		end
	end
end

game.Players.PlayerAdded:Connect(function() 
	AutoTeam()
end)

game.Players.PlayerRemoving:Connect(function() 
	AutoTeam()
end)
2 Likes