Award player a badge with chat?

I’m trying to make it possible for myself to give players a badge using a chat command. Here is what I have so far:

local Admins = {"catostomus"}
game.Players.PlayerAdded:Connect(function(plr)
 plr.Chatted:connect(function(msg)
  for i, AdminPerson in ipairs(Admins) do
   if plr.Name == AdminPerson then
    if msg:sub(1, 7) == "/award " then
     local PlayerToBeAwarded = game.Players:FindFirstChild(msg:sub(8))
     if PlayerToBeAwarded then
    game:GetService("BadgeService"):AwardBadge(plr.UserID, 2124505078)
     end
    end
   end
  end
 end)
end)

Unsure what the problem is.

4 Likes

Anything in the out put?

On another note, I would use :Connect instead of :connect, just makes it easier.

1 Like

No nothing of interest. I have never used BadgeService before, am I doing it correctly?

I think the problem is this line. You’re using plr, which is the admin that joined, not the player awarded in the chat. To fix this, just put PlayerToBeAwarded.UserId instead of plr.UserId.

game:GetService("BadgeService"):AwardBadge(PlayerToBeAwarded.UserId, 2124505078)
2 Likes

I gave that a try, still no luck. I also noticed I was using UserID and not UserId, but this didn’t seem to fix it either.

How, exactly, are you testing this?
If you are testing this in studio, I would test it in a proper game. I’ll join you to help.

1 Like

I’m testing it in the actual game using an alt (the alt has permission to run the command).

You may want to insert a UserOwnsBadge function:

BadgeService:UserHasBadgeAsync(PlayerToBeAwarded.UserId, badgeID)

Also, here is the API reference for BadgeService.

1 Like

Still nothing sadly, I’ll try to see if I can come up with something to solve it. Worst case I ask a mutual who has more knowledge than I do.

Is your badge enabled? Is your script a server script?

I would check to find the badge, using this:

BadgeService:GetBadgeInfoAsync(2124505078)
1 Like