Basic Script Help

Heyyo scripters! I am a beginner scripter, and was trying to fire a remote event from a script to a localscript.

I got an error on the normal script, here’s the code on there:

local event = ReplicatedStorage.AddText
script.Parent.Touched:Connect(function(hit, plr)
	local h = hit.Parent:FindFirstChild("Humanoid")
	if h ~= nil then

h.Health = h.Health - 0.5
		event:FireClient(plr,"hi")

end
end)

Here was my error:
FireClient: player argument must be a Player object

I searched the Internet and DevForum, but got no results. If you can, please respond and provide help :slight_smile:

1 Like

Try getting the player by using

local Player = game.Players:GetPlayerFromCharacter(h.Parent)

Try and pass that through instead

3 Likes

“plr” is not an argument for a player. You have to catch the player by hit.Parent. Like:

local plr = game.Players:GetPlayerFromCharacter(hit.Parent) -- Get the player for some part of his character that touched the part
6 Likes

instead of findfirstchild do :WaitForChild("Humanoid")

You shouldn’t use WaitForChild in this case, especially without a time out (the second parameter). Because it’s not super important to have the humanoid, it’s run from a server script, and because lots of parts can hit the script’s parent, using WaitForChild isn’t a good choice.

The OP’s code is fine; FindFirstChild with an existence check is the best in this case.

Edit:

With explanations

Because it’s not super important to have the humanoid

(nothing will break if the character doesn’t have a humanoid, it should always have one on the server. Random parts don’t),

it’s run from a server script

(on the client, there is a chance that things will not have replicated yet, so WaitForChild is sometimes a good choice if you know something is a character or it’s important/only happens once)),

and because lots of parts can hit the script’s parent