Best [rbx] lua 5.1 abstract syntax tree?

I’m not very experienced in this topic, so I would like to immediately dive into working with an AST and learn the standards others use when structuring their ASTs

Do you guys know of any great ones? I want something that has a great documentation (or please direct me to where the AST standards are described), because if it comes down to deciphering code, I would rather reimpliment it instead

Thank you

1 Like

Do you mean grammar? AST is just that: arbitrary. There is no standard Lua AST.

Roblox Lua doesn’t add any new syntax (unlike others like Garry’s Mod’s Lua, which adds things like continue and !), so a normal Lua 5.1 grammar file will work for Roblox.

By searching “Lua grammar”, you should be able to find various ways the Lua grammar has been written.

The Lua 5.1 Reference Manual includes grammar parsings of its syntax as it teaches them: Lua 5.1 Reference Manual

Example:

2 Likes

A couple months back I wrote a complete Lua 5.1 parser. With all possible bias, this is the most readable and documented Lua parser that I know of.

There’s a parser in lua-minify, written by @stravant, which luasyntax is partially based off of.

There’s luacheck, written in Lua, which contains a lexer and parser.

The Lua source code itself is also an excellent resource.

7 Likes

well after spending far too long trying to get antlr to work (successfully install* lol idk why this is so hard) I have given up :confused:

I will try @Anaminus’s parsers tomorrow but am I completely missing something because earlier today when I looked at stravant’s prasers, I felt like both the lua-minify you linked and (maybe an older version?) GitHub - stravant/LuaMinify: Lua source code minifier. have no documentation
do I just need to learn to read better or what is it?