Best way to promote my hangout game?

Hello everyone! Recently I released a hangout game called Hangout In A Bottomless Pit! but I am struggling to get more players. It is a very simple game but I believe that it has very good potential because it is unique and it is just a chill place to hangout and chat (many players have said this as well!)

I have tried sponsoring and advertising the game with a pretty decent amount of robux, but I have only reached about 7k visits and I am not getting really anymore players without any sponsors or ads. However, the ratings have been pretty good so far which is promising.

I would love to hear feedback on the best route for promoting a hangout game as this is my first time promoting a hangout game in general. I know social media epseically TikTok is a great place for promoting games but I just wonder if it will be worth it for a hangout game that doesn’t exaclty have a “core gameplay loop”. Thanks for any advice!

5 Likes

Honestly, with my experience with Hnagout games, they never do well, they always flop. But there are many “Hangout” games on the platform which have at least 1k players, and i said Hangout in quotation makrs because they have what your game dosent have, which is a core-gameplay-machanic.

Advertising is on my opinion and many other devs a complete waste of money, as for sponsering, i havent messed with that.

Best advice i could give is to add something that will make them come back again, Hangouts fail because 1 person joins, sees that there is no one to hangout with, then leaves, and the loop continues, and what makese it worse is when there is nothing to do.

I’ll give you a couple examples of Hangout games that have something for people to do:

• Note that they also dont have “Hangout” in the name, thats something to consider.
4 Likes