Best way to store Inventory Items within a datastore

Hey guys! I’m currently making an inventory for my game, and I’m wondering what the best practices are to store items, as I want a good, long-term solution!

Here’s an example of the current one:

local Inventory = {

["Item_Name"] = {
		["Type"] = "Weapon",
		["Stat_1"] = "Damage*10",
		["Stat_2"] = "Speed*-3",
		["Stat_3"] = "Damage*10%",
		["Stat_4"] = "Stamina*25%"
	}
}

( “*” Indicates to split the string there, the rest should be self explanatory)

I’m wondering if doing something like this would work well large scale, with many items. I also want to integrate trading so avoiding duplication is another thing I’m striving for!

I’m wondering if i should also make an item ID system, of which each and every item has a unique identifier.

I’m fairly new to datastores, and I’m just looking for feedback on how to make a more robust data system to store items within an inventory. I’m also using profileservice however I don’t think that is relevant.

Thank you for all responses in advance!

1 Like

I think that you can safely use this data structure because key value limit in data stores is 4,194,304 characters so you don’t have to worry about limitations. You can check how many characters does table have by using this simple code:

local HttpService = game:GetService('HttpService')
local Inventory = {
	["Item_Name"] = {
		["Type"] = "Weapon",
		["Stat_1"] = "Damage*10",
		["Stat_2"] = "Speed*-3",
		["Stat_3"] = "Damage*10%",
		["Stat_4"] = "Stamina*25%"
	}
}
print(HttpService:JSONEncode(Inventory):len()) --in this case output is 117

Obviously ids would make this number lower but using them makes development slower. Hope it helps!

1 Like