Blok | Visual scripting plugin devlog 1 (On hold)

Hello gamers, this is the first devlog for blok a new visual scripting plugin for Roblox. You might be thinking:

“But there are loads of those(may have missed some)

Well you’re right. Here are a few reason why I’m still making it and why you should use it (there a bit mixed-up):

• I like writing code so why not make something?
  • This project will be fully open-source on Github & free forever.
  • Built with things I want to learn or grow in.

I started off creating a new Rojo project (bare in mind I’m quite new to Rojo and all the other formatting, linting, autocompleting and package managing tools). Then I got into thinking what things I needed to make it. In the end I chose Fusion and Janitor (I probs will need more later).

The start of the “Backend”

First I started with writing the blocks file. It holds all the info for the blocks and it also has a thing called type which follows the Scratch docs (reporter, c, hat, stack, cap and boolean are the types a block can have).
Then I started writing the code generator. This is the bit that parses the BlockTree (as I’m calling it). Btw this is what a BlockTree looks like:

BlockTree
{
	{
		type = "onstart",
		inputs = {
			{
				type = "print",
				inputs = {
					{
						type = "join",
						inputs = {
							{
								type = "string",
								inputs = {
									"Hello, ",
								},
							},
							{
								type = "string",
								inputs = {
									"world!",
								},
							},
						},
					},
				},
			},
			{
				type = "ifthen",
				inputs = {
					{
						type = "equal",
						inputs = {
							{
								type = "string",
								inputs = {
									"abc",
								},
							},
							{
								type = "string",
								inputs = {
									"def",
								},
							},
						},
					},
					{
						type = "print",
						inputs = {
							{
								type = "string",
								inputs = {
									"What!?",
								},
							},
						},
					},
				},
			},