Can Exploiters access module script through Require of a ServerScript?

Hello, I am relatively new to the whole Security side of Roblox.
I hope that someone with more experience can clarify this.

I know the exploiters cannot access ServerSideScript, or ServerStorage.

From how I understand it, stuff inside of Workspace is replicated to both Client and Server.
When I run the game, I can copy the Part and paste it back into Workspace with the ServerScript inside.
(I don’t know if this is something a exploiter can do, or maybe I got the wrong idea)

If it possible for Exploiter to just copy things from Workspace.

What if I have a Part inside of the Workspace with a ServerScript.
And inside of that Script, I do a require to a module inside of ServerStorage.
Would they have access to the module?

Part
   -> Script
      -> require( someModule )

Thank you.

1 Like

They could access if they use Synapse X

Not only Synapse, they could use other to do it as well.

1 Like

They couldn’t access the module if it’s in a server based service like “ServerScriptService” or “ServerStorage.” So, I suggest putting it in these areas.

So basically there isn’t a real way to preventing exploiter getting anything?

1 Like

maybe this will help

Let me try to help explain the way the Server and Client work as best as possible.

Here’s a diagram I quickly just drew up. Each game has 1 server instance. The server handles secure game data and passes this data into clients. Some things, like you said the workspace, are replicated among the server and clients. Other things, for example ServerScriptService, remain on the server and will not replicate due to the client-server boundary (red line in the diagram).