Can I send values to module scripts?

Greetings,

I am new to module scripts, in fact i never used them before. I am making a pvp game that has abilities that reduce dmg taken and those that boost your dmg output. So in order not to have to copy paste ugly complicated if then statements i thought i’d make a module script and just require it each time

when dmg occurs there are 4 possibilites

attacker III victim
no dmg boost III no dmg reduction
dmg boost III no dmg reduction
no dmg boost III dmg reduction
dmg boost III dmg reduction

as you can imagine this would involve a big tangle of if statements so i thought i’d make 1 module script serve as the calculator

however to calculate it needs 3 variables
the actual dmg of the attack
does the attacker have attack boost?
does the victim have dmg reduction?

however i’ve not found anywhere a way to communicate these 3 variables to the module

is it even possible? is there a better way?

thank you for your time

You can pass in those values through the function like you usually would.
Here are some examples:
Module

function ModuleName.DamageCheck(damage, attackerBoost, victimDamageReduction)
	-- code goes here
end

In another script

ModuleName.DamageCheck(5, true, false)

However, seeing as you described it as “a big tangle of if statements”, do you mean that you’re checking for all 4 possibilities in seperate if/elseif statements or are you using 2 if statements to check for damage/reduction and then apply the effects that way? If you’re doing the 4 possibilities option, it’d be better to do the latter instead, which would look like this

function ModuleName.DamageCheck(damage, attackerBoost, victimDamageReduction)
	if attackerBoost then
		damage *= 2
	end
	if victimDamageReduction then
		damage /= 2
	end
	return damage
end

edit Even better, you can have the ModuleName handle damaging the player too, which would look similar to this

function ModuleName.HitPlayer(hitPlayer, damage, attackerBoost, hitDamageReduction)