Cannot figure out how to rotate a model properly

hello, I am not very good at cframes and so I am struggling over what I am sure is an easy problem for some. the problem I am having is that I am trying to align 2 models, and it is failing miserably because of the way the models have been made.

the way I am currently orientating them is by setting their primary part in a script. the problem is that yes, although the primary parts have the same rotation, the rest of the model does not. Because of the way the models have been built, the primary parts are not in the same location every time. This means while on one model the Primary part may be on the right side, the other may have it on the left. Because of this, I cannot find a way to orientate them properly.

I am assuming there is some form of solution using CFrame:ToWorldPosition() and CFrame:ToObjectPosition(). The problem is that my CFrame skills are lacking, and I have minimal knowledge on how ToObjectPostion and ToWorldPosition would be used in a scenario like this.

1 Like

Use CFrame.Angles()
Take the target CFrame and do * CFrame.Angles(math.rad(90), 0, 0)
The first value I put in probably won’t work so mess with -90, 90 and change it’s value position.

You should only have a single slot with math.rad and the rest 0s

1 Like

Yes, this works for some models. The problem is that it’s not a universal solution as a few of the models have their primary part on the left, some on the right, some on the front, some on the back. A hard set rotation modification works for some, but not others.

1 Like

You could just insert a Vector3Value in each model and in the script just reference that for the number.

local SelectedStage = ...
local OffsetVector = SelectedStage.OffsetVector.Value

SelectedStage.PrimaryPart.CFrame = YourTargetCFrame * CFrame.Angles(
	math.rad(OffsetVector.X), 
	math.rad(OffsetVector.Y), 
	math.rad(OffsetVector.Z)
)