Can't get gui button to equip and unequip tool

Ok, this has been a little bit frustrating, so sorry if I sound rude at all. And sorry if I talk too much lol

I’ve been trying to get a gui button(more specifically an image button) to equip and then unequip a tool once you click it.

I tried to do it myself by parenting the tool from replicated storage to the backpack on click, it had no errors, but just didn’t do anything.
So, I checked some stuff online, even stuff from this devforum, and I tested about 3 other questions about this same type of script, none of them worked.

FYI the tool’s name is “Attack” Because it is a tool with no handle and is only used for shooting things. I thought that might help in case the no handle might mess something up, I’m really new to scripting so I dunno.

I also attempted to change the image button’s image, but, similar to what usually happens, the image wont change and it doesn’t even give me errors.

I’ve already posted a couple hours ago and I really feel like I’m just doing all this without effort, but I’ve watched many scripting tutorials and I thought I got the hang of it, but apparently I haven’t. Also, GUI is my weakness when it comes to scripting and since scripting is also my weakness when it comes to game design, I really need help to get this simple thing working, so any help is greatly appreciated.

Use Humanoid:EquipTool()

It’s is highly recomended to use it on client because it will already be replicated to the server

Then you can add a script in your GUI button like this:

local button = ----your button
local char = game.Players.LocalPlayer.Character 
local debounce = true
    button.Activated:connect(function()
          if debounce then
            char.Humanoid:EquipTool(--your tool)
          debounce = false
          else 
           char.Humanoid:UnequipTools(--your tool)
         debounce = true
        end
    end)