Change Color script

Hello everybody! Today I was working on my obby, and I wanted to make a stage where I have frogs, and there are like 30 frogs, and only 6 are not killparts. I wanna make it so it shows which frog is not the killpart. So it will make the frog green then it will show the other frog etc. The whole frog is a Mesh so I want the texture to reset back to normal after the frog has been shown. I am trying to make it do that but I can’t because I keep getting this error (" [TextureID is not a valid member of Part"). I didn’t complete the script but I did one frog and I went to go test it out but it didn’t work. Does anyone know how to fix this? btw my script is in ServerScriptService. This is the script that I started working on…

I am still pretty new to scripting, so if you could explain it in a beginner way, that would be great! :)))

Parts do not have a TextureID property, but Texture does.

Take a look at me!

2 Likes

As a good habit and practice, load your list of frogs into a table.

And on loop run through your table of them. Its good to start getting practice using tables even at a very basic level you will need to get very comfortable with them.

Because of how Roblox Studio handles errors, this one is wrong. What you intend to do is more than likely to change the TextureID of a part, yet the problem is that it does not have any property called “TextureID” - which in this case, it should have said “TextureID is not a property of Part” in order to explain it better.

But let’s get to the point: Part Instances don’t really have a property called "Texture ID"s, but as @PhoenixRessusection said, Texture instances do (check out the texture link Phoenix linked).

It is also a good practice to place your frogs in a table like this:

local Frogs = {
   Frog1 = workspace.SafeFrog1;
   Frog2 = workspace.SafeFrog2;
   Frog3 = workspace.SafeFrog3;
   --and such

};