Changing team when touched a brick

this is easy, but I can’t seem to figure this out. Also, I’ve never done debouce before so I might’ve messed that up as well.

local debouce = false
script.Parent.Touched:Connect(function(touch)
	debouce = true
	touch.Parent.Team = game:GetService("Teams")["In PVP"]
end)

Team is not a valid member of Workspace “Workspace” is the error I’m getting

3 Likes

touch is the object that touched the part, it is not a player instance

To get the player instead, you would need to do game:GetService("Players"):GetPlayerFromCharacter(touch.Parent), put that in a variable, check if it is not nil, because if the parent of touch is not a character belonging to a player, it nils, if it is not nil, get the Team property from that and then set the team

Something like this

local debouce = false
	debouce = true
	local player = game:GetService("Players"):GetPlayerFromCharacter(touch.Parent)
	if not player then
		continue
	end
	player.Team = game:GetService("Teams")["In PVP"]
end)

Also your debounce wont do anything since there’s no condition to check if debounce is true or not. What are you trying to do after teaming? Is this a one-time thing?

yes, it is a one-time thing. after they touch the brick, then the player who has touched it could fight

So If I get you right, if a player touches it, no other player can get the benefits the code gives? If so, just disconnect the event

local event
event = script.Parent.Touched:Connect(function(touch)
	if not player then
		continue
	end
	event:Disconnect()
end)

If you’re trying to say it only works once for each player, you need a table debounce for that

Oh sorry, I didn’t understand what you meant. multiple players can get it. Also the continue inside of the if statement is an error

Yea I’m a bit late to this since I got busy, I meant to write return and not continue, And for your case, then you just need a table debounce system, something like this

local debounces = {}