Character Customization - Color Individual Parts?

I will warn I’m not very good with Luascript. However I was able to get pretty far by following tutorials alone. Unfortunately, some tutorials don’t cover every subject.
I recently followed a tutorial that allowed me to set a body part to a color using GUIs.
For example, clicking this red button will turn your head red: image
The problem is that the body part that is colored is predetermined, and I don’t want to make entire section for each and every body part for a custom model that has as over 40 parts, and that’s not including unadded accessories.

I’m wondering if there’s a way for the player to select the body part(s) they’d like on one tab, and then select the color they’d like on the other. I’ve seen it applied that way in Warrior Cats: Uncharted Territory, but never understood how to make something like that. Thanks in advance for any help.

1 Like

I’m not sure if this is the best way to do it, but you could try detecting when a player selects something, adding a tag to the “body part” that’s related to the setting/button, and when the player clicks the color, do a for loop to color all of them.

Something like this:

local CollectionService = game:GetService("CollectionService")

LeftLegButton.MouseButton1Click:Connect(function()----when they press the body part button
	if Character.LeftLeg:HasTag("SelectedParts") then----Detect if its already selected
		CollectionService:RemoveTag(Character.LeftLeg, "SelectedParts")---if so, deselect it
		---also deselect the button however you want (just decoration like removing a highlight)
	else
		CollectionService:AddTag(Character.LeftLeg, "SelectedParts")---if not, select it
		---also select the button however you want (just decoration like highlighting)
	end
end)

ColorButton.MouseButton1Click:Connect(function()------------Whatever function you use to color the parts