Clarification and Confirmation of OOP

I will take this script from @Dev_Simphony in his OOP Tutorial.

local Gun = {}
Gun.__index = Gun

function Gun.New(Damage, Auto, Ammo)
	local newGun = {}
	newGun.Damage = Damage
	newGun.Auto = Auto
	newGun.Ammo = Ammo
	setmetatable(newGun, Gun)
end

function Gun:Shoot()
	print(self)
	if self.Auto == false then
		self.Ammo -= 1
	elseif self.Auto == true then
		self.Ammo -= 5
	end
end

return Gun

If I understand it correctly, the newGun also has the method of New. That means that New can be called in the object itself.

Is that supposed to happen?

Currently, it seems confusing that the New method is also in the newGun object.

I am no OOP expert, so bear with me here. I tried to separate the New method from the newGun. This is the script I created:

local Gun = {}
local Functions = {}
Functions.__index = Functions

function Functions:Shoot()
	if self.Auto == false then
		self.Ammo -= 1
	elseif self.Auto == true then
		self.Ammo -= 5
	end
	print(self)
end

function Gun.new(Damage : number, Auto : boolean, Ammo : number)
	local newGun = {}
	newGun.Damage = Damage
	newGun.Auto = Auto
	newGun.Ammo = Ammo

setmetatable(newGun, Functions)
	return newGun
end

return Gun

After testing it out in a separate script, it seems to work. However, as I have said, I am no OOP expert.

So, is this a correct way to use OOP? Is there a flaw in the code I created?

It’s better to think of new() as init() - short for initialize. This is what OOP languages tend to use with their classes.

The Gun object doesn’t exist until we initialize it, so we need to call a method that creates both the object (in this case the metatable) and passes some default parameters to it. In this case, we pass Damage, Auto and Ammo to it.

If we weren’t to initialize the object before use, there wouldn’t be an object in the first place!

Does that clear things up?

1 Like

Updated for clarity and rephrased to remove a statement that raised some doubt.