Command bar should automatically print value of single expressions

As a developer, I often need to output some value when working with the command bar, however this is inconvenient because I need to explicitly put print(...) around the command I just wrote to get any value from the expression.

It would be great if there was an option so that Studio automatically printed the value of the expression in the command I just wrote. This saves on clutter in the command bar (don’t need to put print(…) around the thing I just wrote) and makes it much quicker to get the value I want to see.

Examples:

> 4 + 5
> workspace:FindFirstChild("Baseplate")
Baseplate
> game.CollectionService:GetTagged("...")
{ ... }
> a = 1  b = 2  c = a + b
-- this is not a single expression, do not automatically print any values

This would be reminiscent of “interactive shells” that exist for other popular scripting languages.

An advanced extension of this feature could be to automatically print the last expression / last assignment / last statement in the command bar (for example, print 3 for that last example above, since c becomes 3 with that last statement). However, the design for that isn’t as clean / unopiniated as with single expressions, so I’m not suggesting that here for now.

If Roblox would implement this suggestion, it would simplify any work I do that uses the command bar and would improve how fast and convenient I am able to get my commands done.

33 Likes

What if instead of only accepting single expressions, it will print whatever the command returns, if any? This is what the official online demo does.

2 Likes

That’d be a nice addition for sure, but it doesn’t really solve wanting to type less boilerplate not related to what I’m trying to get out of my command. (instead of print(…), it’s now return …) I feel like the command bar should be smart enough to figure out that I want something printed when I put a single expression that returns some value.

2 Likes