Complex UI Shapes?

Hi!

I’ve been building for a long time on Roblox for other people (mainly groups), so recently I’ve decided that I wanted to pick up other talents and give my own group a shot.

So, I’m just starting out on the place and I wanted to get the game systems done prior to building anything since I figure the systems will be the hardest part for me. Last night I drew up a sketch of what I want my UI to look like in GIMP. Here it is:

Obviously not to scale, lol. This is just to give an idea of where everything will go. Anyway, after giving it some thought I realized I’m going to need a LOT of rounded corners, custom icons, etc., so obviously I need to start using a paint software for this GUI. Here are my questions…

1. Which paint software should I use? I’m running on a Mac. I drew up my sketch on GIMP, but I heard raster paint softwares are bad for UI.

2. How big is the Roblox screen? Should I just go with 1920x1080? I want to make sure the scaling doesn’t result in pixelated distortions around my images.

3. How should I go about exporting only specific elements and breaking the GUI apart while still maintaining the proper sizes? Lots of the parts of the GUI are gonna be moving or variable, so I need to have each asset separated.

4. Tips to make my UI look more professional? How hard is icon creation for things like the exclamation point in the triangle or the minimap?

Thank you so much!

1. GIMP, Adobe XD, Photoshop, and whatever software will do as long as it allows you export assets as a png file. Personally prefer Photoshop because of the availability to resources online. Makes it easier to learn and advance.

2. This isn’t a concern for you. Make use of UIAspectRatioConstraint to maintain the dimension of your UI assets irrespective of screen dimensions.

3. No comment.