Confused on some scripting terms

Hi there,

I’m very new to scripting and I believe I have most of the basics covered, so I tried to follow along with a script and I noticed that I’m not sure when to use “.” or “:” Here is an example below. Why was . used after Players and not : also why was : used after PlayersAdded and not .?
Screenshot 2023-07-15 at 4.42.17 PM

14 Likes

I’m not the best at explaining things, but here I go…

We generally use a . whenever we are trying to navigate through a certain instance, basically its children. PlayerAdded is an event which is bundled with the Player instance whenever a Player joins your game.

As for using a :, it’s used for functions, such as :Connect(), which connects when a certain event gets triggered, such as your case, or when playing a sound (e.g. :Play())

11 Likes

So from what I understand I believe you’re trying to explain is that PlayerAdded is a child of Players? Since you said that’s when a . is used? Also I may be confused between a Service and an Event. Maybe that’s where the . and : are set apart? Also, I like to think that whatever has a () at then end is a function, is that correct?

9 Likes

And when we say “children” or “child” what do we mean? Lets say I open the properties of a part, are all the things such as colour and transparency children of that part?

7 Likes

Okay, let’s just take it as if Events are objects which can’t be seen in the Explorer, but they are still usable in games.

A service is just like the main folders which are at the top level of your game’s Explorer. An event is something that is part of the Service. Let’s say you want to make a function such that something happens when a part is touched. You wouldn’t say…

Touched.game.ReplicatedStorage.Part:Connect(function(Player) -- Touched is not a service?

Instead, you will say…

game.ReplicatedStorage.Part.Touched:Connect(function(Player) -- ReplicatedStorage is a valid service in the game.