Creating a contract in game development

I’m FlammableSnowan, and I’m fairly new to the Developer Forum as of May 2019. In this tutorial, I will try to explain how to make a contract.

What inspired me?

Multiple studios.

What does a contract do in game development?/What is a contract?

My simplified definition of a contract

A legal document that the individual who is signing it must agree to.

Google's definition of a contract

A written or spoken agreement, especially one concerning employment, sales, or tenancy, that is intended to be enforceable by law.

For additional information, a contract works like this:

• The employer creating the contract states what s/he requires in the contract
  • The individual signing it must agree to every condition in the contract

Which was basically what I stated in the definition.

In game development however, a contract can secure payments, and secure anything in general. Is a developer looking for commission/contract work? Is a developer looking part-time/full-time work? Well, a contract guarantees it all.

The structure of a contract/Creating a contract

The basic structure of a contract (when I think of one) goes like:

By signing this contract, you hereby agree to …
You will hereby attend during …
You will hereby complete …

…And a lot more information included.

Knowing this, the employer can start on their first contract, knowing this information:

Information
  • The employer is looking for commissioned work
  • The commissioned work is: 2 GFX logos

The contract would look something like this:

Module 1 of the contract
By signing this contract, you hereby agree to respect all of its contents, terms, and conditions.
By signing this contract, you legally comply with (communication software, i.e. Discord) terms of conditions.
By signing this contract, you legally comply with (payment software, i.e. PayPal) terms of conditions.