Dangerous Models, or why does the toolbox even exist?

I’m new to Roblox coding and game design, but I’ve worked in IT for many years doing development, security, and sysadmin work, so let’s say I’m not a total noob when it comes to this world. That said, I humbly accept that I have a lot to learn when it comes to Roblox speficically, and that knowledge is coming with some frustration, especially when it comes to security. I’m told that I should never use community models because of the possibility that somebody has inserted some dastardly piece of code in the shape of a script that would qualify as a Roblox virus, whatever that is. If these concerns are true and that every model in the toolbox needs to be viewed as a potential landmine, then what is the point of the toolbox or of even having a shared development resource? If every model is a gateway to security hell, how is any developer, new, intermediate, or experienced, supposed to trust what’s out there? Do we need to view everything with an eye towards exposing ourselves to some nefarious hidden purpose? In short, why would Roblox even allow people to share models, etc, if it’s so freaking dangerous? How can I stop worrying and just start coding?

3 Likes

You’re asking why anything is ever open-source and freely available.

Nothing is ever without risk. You should never blindly use anything - whether it’s on this forum or the toolbox or Google.

Same as installing a program on your computer and using it.

Maybe Roblox could have a vetted models category that were not free to cover the cost of manually reviewing each one, but the best method is to teach people of the risks, let them know what to look out for, and provide methods of reporting bad actors and malicious models.