DataStore2: Editing Player's Data If They're Offline

Hey everyone!

I’m sure most of us have used DataStore2 at some point and can appreciate it’s usefulness from handling caching for us and handling saving for us while utilising berezaa’s method of saving.

If you do not understand what DataStore2 is or how it works, please take a read of this:
How to use DataStore2

Now as a game developer, I usually need to change people’s data e.g through bugs or say a moderator in your game needs to change an exploiter’s stats I’m sure this is very uncommon for most people but we know there is no officially supported way to change a player’s data if they’re offline.

The past few hours I’ve been working on a way to do this, now I’m not sure if there’s any massive errors that can arise from this but I do know one thing: Use this only in a private server as DataStore2 makes a lot of API calls already so you don’t want to prevent another user in your game from having their data saved.

Let’s get to the tutorial!

Now, you must have multiple keys in your DataStore2 for one user and you must be using DataStore2.Combine(masterkey, …) to make sure these keys combine into one massive dictionary to be saved under one datastore. We also need the ID of the user whos data we want to edit!

This is very important because otherwise using more than 1 key is using exponentially more API calls than necessary.

At the top of the script, you’ll want to require your DataStore2 module, get the DataStoreService and define your master key:

local DataStore2 = require(game.ServerScriptService.MainModule)
local DataStoreService = game:GetService("DataStoreService")
local MasterKey = "MyMasterKey"
local UserId = "60001022"

Here we just require the DataStore2 module and get the DataStoreService along with defining our master key. Make sure you path the datastore2 module properly! We will be making use of the DataStoreService itself too.