Detect if a Player is Moving or Not

I am looking to recreate my own version of an old zen/relaxation game from a long time ago. I want to make a script that when a person moves, it fires a command, and when the person stops moving it fires a different command. For demonstration purposes that command can be print(“moving”) and print(“not moving”).

Right now the first step I need to figure out is how to detect if a player is moving or not. I am still pretty new to scripting and want to find the most effective way of doing this.

I have looked through the Dev Forums, found a couple posts relating to this topic but none seem to work well. This script would most likely need to be on a local script because it will be per player

I attempted the script below which was ripped directly from the roblox developer API Reference, but even this script didnt seem to work.

game.Workspace.Player.Humanoid.Running:Connect(function(speed)
    if speed > 0 then
        print("Player is running")
    else
        print("Player has stopped")
    end
end)

I greatly appreciate all of your help and hope to create something very cool here soon!

7 Likes

You’re attempting to get the humanoid through the player instead of the character which is why it won’t work.
You need to define the character first before it comes to the humanoid of the character.

You can do something like this:
(Script is in StarterCharacterScripts btw)

local Character = script.Parent

Character.Humanoid.Running:Connect(function(speed)
	if speed > 0.1 then -- Walking
		print("Walking")
	else -- Idle
		print("Standing")
	end
end)
6 Likes

You can use the humanoids MoveDirection property and access its magnitude to see if they are walking (and it will only return a non zero value if the player is moving via inputs and not external forces like being flung by parts).

game.Players.PlayerAdded:Connect(function(player)
	player.CharacterAdded:Connect(function(char)
		local hum = char:WaitForChild("Humanoid")