Developer Payment

Hi I’m pretty new to working with other developers so I need a bit of help deciding how the pay should be split. Here is how we split our work:

Developer 1: Scripting everything, Animations, Particles, Funding
Developer 2: Everything building related except the map, GUIs (not scripting), game logo and thumbnail

What do you recommend?

2 Likes

If you are one of those two developers, 50/50.
if you are not, give Dev 1 50% and Dev2 45%.

I’ve not seen you state what you do in the project so I’d do 5% as a middleman.

4 Likes

I would say:

Developer1: 65-70% - funding is a big thing and can help the success of the game and scripting shapes the game more than anything

Developer2: 30-35% - GFX, UIs and builds would barely ever need updating unless you’re going on a rampage unlike scripters who would most likely have multiple bugs to fix after release and additional content

13 Likes

so Developer 2 is just doing the UI + a bit of building?

I don’t know what type of game you’re doing but the map is usually most of the building

If it’s just two developers and you’re one of them then I’d give Dev1 70-80% (Depending on how much building Dev2 is gonna do) and the rest to Dev 2

It really just depends on the game

3 Likes

One way to help determine the ‘cost to develop’ could be sprint planning.

At my workplace, we assess the tickets (issues/feature requests, etc) with a group of people, each with a number card representing how many ‘days to complete’ a ticket would take,and from their, determine if it is a small, medium or large task.

For example, building a map typically is a large or even epic task, but building a little cafe may only take a day.

One you’ve determined how big each task is, you can determine how much it is going to cost, and so has done what work.

Of course, you still have things to consider like, but fixes for programming, new features, etc, but this should give you a general idea of what is worth what.

3 Likes