Devlog #1 | Paint Punks

Paint Punks is a paintball game I have been working on for quite a few months now. The game is inspired by the original Mad Paintball in which players can choose from a selection of characters to play as, each with their own unique characteristics. Given that I am a bit late to start making devlogs this first one will be a long one, but it’ll also give more opportunity for feedback on my designs. Let me know your thoughts!

Projectile system

The first thing I worked on was a system to spawn bullets that would travel along an arc and stop upon the first valid collision. The system is implemented using raycasts each frame to move a Part with a Beam along the arc. Upon a collision the bullet is replaced with a small ‘impact’ effect that emits particles.

Team coloring

Next up was making a system to automatically recolor maps based on the team a player is part of. I decided to limit myself to having exactly 2 teams at all times, Alpha and Beta. A player will always see objects that are part of their own team as ‘blue’ and enemy objects as ‘orange’. I used CollectionService to tag these objects that can be recolored. Attributes were then added to define the specific colors. A LocalScript was then used to detect team changes and to recolor objects automatically. Here is what that looks like in action.

Characters

The next thing I worked on was a custom character. I found Roblox’s out-of-the-box character system to be very limiting and the timely release of the new physics controllers was a good chance to try something new.

I created a single deformable mesh in Blender and added a capsule collider on top in studio, plus I added some attachment points for accessories. The plan is to have one base mesh for male and female characters each. Then, accessories will be added on top to create a selection of different characters to play as.

Character mesh

left: Blender, right: Studio w/ capsule collider