Difference between coroutines and functions?

Ive started reading up on coroutines but i still dont understand how they work, they just run code? what is the point of using coroutines if its still a single thread at a time?

2 Likes

Hi! I might be wrong here, but let me try to explain how I use them :slight_smile:

If I’m not mistaken (I’m not the best at it either), it allows you to run multiple stuff from your script at the same time.

For example, in a “normal” script you cannot have a loop check every half a minute & listen to events.

For example:

while true do
   task.wait(30)
   print("Check something here")
end

someEvent:Connect(function()
  print("Event was fired!")
end)

Here if the loop is on the wait, the event will not be dealt with by the script as it’s still busy with the loop.

However what you could do is putting the loop in a coroutine so the script can both listen for the event and execute the loop.

Once again I’m not a pro in this at all, but I hope this helps! :slight_smile:

So coroutines let the rest of the script run while it is not doing anything?
Does this happen automatically?

I believe so, yes. However, I’ll leave the “final reply” on this question to my fellow colleagues here on the devforum to be sure! :slight_smile:

1 Like

If I recall, a coroutine is basically just another way of running a separate task from the main script without having to delay it at all

One example would be loops, now say I have a while true do loop:

while true do
    print("Banana")
    wait(1)
end

print("Orange")

Now obviously, this would run infinitely (Unless if the script is disabled) So the Orange print would never run correct? Now, say we use a coroutine:

coroutine.resume(coroutine.create(function()
    --Just imagine this as its own separate script within the actual script
    while true do
        print("Banana")
        wait(1)
    end
end))

print("Orange")