Do Scripts Always Run?

Hello everyone. I know the answer to my question is probably obvious, but I am new to scripting and a little confused. Do scripts and local scripts run when a game starts, or do you have to activate them with
a line of code like a click detector. Is there a way to make a script always running? Thanks for reading.

2 Likes

Scripts will run when the game starts unless you have disabled it. To have a script constantly run, put it in a loop.

3 Likes

Scripts can be disabled by default before the game start and to script do always fun but if there a function like an event, if the event is fired, the function from the script will fire also, note that only the function from the script will fire, you can add multiple functions to a script with this.

1 script fully scripted with functions can be the main and only script of a game.

Youtube can help you a lot of this: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yc_d8Zh95l0

2 Likes

Ok. I have a local script in the workspace with a while true do loop but nothing in the script is running. I put some print statements in different parts of the script and not even a print statement at the top prints so I was a bit confused

LocalScript and Scripts are not the same thing at all.

Script run to the ServerSide.
LocalScript run to the ClientSide.

LocalScript are mostly use for UI/LocalSounds/PlayerStarterScript.
Script are mostly use for main game actions or events.

2 Likes

Althougth LocalScripts can be manipulated to run on the ServerSide with remote events.

3 Likes

So should this local script run when the game starts?

print(“Beginning”)
local player = game.Players.LocalPlayer
local amount = 2
local timedelay = 4
currencyname = “Currency”

while true do
if player.Team.Name == “Working” then
wait(timedelay)
for i,v in pairs(game.Players:GetPlayers()) do
if v: FindFirstChild(“leaderstats”) then
v.leaderstats[currencyname].Value = v.leaderstats[currencyname].Value + amount
end
end
end

end