Donating Robux to other Robloxians

As a Roblox developer, it is currently impossible to donate to other Robloxians without buying their shirts or buying an item in your own group to add group funds.

ISSUE
As a Roblox developer, I and hundreds of others consistently commission developers who prefer Robux as a method of payment. I end up losing a massive amounts of Robux each month in sales taxes to add money to my group funds. This is followed by a long waiting time for that money to arrive into the account itself.

RESOLUTION
By adding a donation page or button to the website, Robloxians will be able to professionally communicate, commission and donate with the Robux currency encouraging an even deeper level of a virtual economy. This would eliminate or reduce the 30% taxes on buying shirts and other Roblox items to transfer this currency.

10 Likes

Roblox makes that 30% commission for a reason. It’s how they get their profit back and keep the robux ‘economy’ somewhat balanced. It’s just like how PayPal takes a small % fee for sending your money to a friend, that bit of money is what keeps the site up and running.

9 Likes

To add onto that it’s the same with Tax. Sales Tax/VAT is 30% (20% in specific cases) and that’s what you pay tax on.

While I support direct donations of Roblox, to remove this tax would be a massive loop hole and wouldn’t be worth it business wise.

2 Likes

It’s worth nothing that we can already send people money this way through a group. It doesn’t seem like such a major disadvantage to add the same functionality for individuals.

If I earn Robux through a group game, I get taxed once, and I can send that money to anyone.

If I earn Robux through an individually owned game, I get taxed once when I earn the Robux, and again when I send it to anyone else including my own group.