Door CFrame scripting

I completely realise there are multiple topics dedicated to doors. However, I don’t really think they answer my problems.
I am a beginner at scripting so I understand that my script for the door I am making is flawed to start with.
In my script I want to be able to click on the door and make it move 90 degrees in a smooth motion around a hinge part. How would I go about making it so that it doesn’t move by set increments every time I click but rather in a smooth, singular, movement. Would I need to use TweenService?
Also, how would I go about making the door return if the user clicked it again?

local hinge = game.Workspace.hinge
local door = game.Workspace.door

local HiPos = hinge.Position
local DURATION = 2

script.Parent.ClickDetector.MouseClick:Connect(function()
		local deg = 90*(tick()%DURATION)/DURATION
		door.CFrame = CFrame.new(HiPos)*CFrame.Angles(0,math.rad(deg),0)*CFrame.new(3.5,0,0)
	wait()
	end)
4 Likes

The MouseClick event only runs once each time you click it, meaning the door will simply teleport to the position you set it to. Instead, you should have a loop update the position of the door over time. The loop will know where to move the door based on a “DoorClosed” variable. To change whether the door is closed or not, simply set DoorClosed to true or false when the player clicks.

I would recommend using the CFrame:Lerp() function for simplicity since you are a beginner.
If you’re confused as to what Lerp does, it simply moves one value towards another value by a given increment. In this example the door moves 10% closer to the open or closed CFrame every time the loop runs.

local hinge = game.Workspace.hinge
local door = game.Workspace.door

local HiPos = hinge.Position

local ClosedCFrame = CFrame.new(HiPos)*CFrame.new(3.5,0,0)
local OpenCFrame = CFrame.new(HiPos)
	*CFrame.Angles(0,math.rad(90),0)
	*CFrame.new(3.5,0,0)

local DoorClosed = true

if DoorClosed == true then
		DoorClosed = false
	else
		DoorClosed = true