This module uses meta data attached to the regular data to stop people from using the same data on different devices.
Edit: I believe they doing something like this: player joins, if data is unlocked continue, lock data, player leaves, unlock data. It also might read the data before saving to see if it’s unlocked. I haven’t read most of the documentation so I could be wrong.