External Datastore

Hello Developers!!!

Today I’ll be showing you how to create your own external datastore meaning you can access all your games data anywhere through http requests.

wHaTs ThE pOiNT iN tHiS?

Well lets say you wanted to link two experiences together by having the same data you can do this. Or maybe you want to access your datastore on Discord and link it to some sort of roles. There is a lot of things you can do with this.

I wouldn’t really recommend this topic for absolute beginners but I’ve created a tutorial video on how to set it up and I’ve tried my best to make the write up on this topic as clear as possible. If you don’t understand something feel free to reply to this topic and I’m willing to help.

Start Of Tutorial

Requirements

• A virtual private server
    You can get a free virtual private server with digital ocean. Watch this video Video Link

Creating A VPS
For the people who want the video tutorial its here → Tutorial Video

Firstly click create droplet

Choose any region you would like, its entirely up to you. For my sake I picked London

Now for Picking the OS image you need to choose Ubuntu and 22.10x x64 for the version.

For the CPU options pick Premium AMD and the plan is up to you. Please note you get a free $200 credit with digital ocean but I would recommend the $21/mo because that’s all you need.

Create a password for the VPS

You can choose any hostname for the sake of the tutorial I named it “Tutorial-VPS”

Then click create droplet it

It will take about 1 minute to create it but once its done it will show

Click the 3 dots then click access console

Then click console

It will take a couple of seconds but then a console will appear and it should look similar to this.

First of all we need to install all the packages to run our external Roblox datastore. You’ll need to run the following commands

sudo apt update
sudo apt install nodejs
sudo apt install npm
sudo apt install git