Fast Paced Combat

So I’m working on a fast paced combat system & would like to have some tips/Discussion on different stuff:

1. What type of hitbox do you usual use?
  2. How do you provide smooth attacks/m1s and ragdoll?
  3. Any problem you faced during the combat system? Like m1 priority (which player hit first)
  4. Do you think it is a good idea to create the hitbox on client & server for more, why?
  5. What do you think is the best force for knockbacks, VectorForce, LinearVelocity or AssemblyLinearVelocity
  6. Anything else you all want to discuss/advice/add to this discussion will be appreciated

I’m not an amateur programmer, so bring on the tough stuff so I improve :wink:

1. For the hitbox, clone a rectagular part and weld it to the character.

2. I don’t know what you mean by smooth.

3. Just add a small stun each time the player gets hit.

4. Hitbox part should be cloned on the server then welded to the character attacking.

5. Use the deprecated BodyVelocity, it is the only velocity that isn’t laggy and replicates correctly.

6. Use animation events to decide the precise moment of the animation where you create a hitbox.

Well these tips are nice but I don’t think it helps me much, in combat system there are a lot of challenges such as the server replication on client causing on some issues only visible on the client (not the server)

Remote Events.

Client activates abilities:

• Fires remote event
  • Does their own SFX.

Server listens to the remote event:

• handle damage
  • Fire the remote event to all players except the client that activates the ability

Other clients listen to the remote event:

• Does the SFX.
2 Likes

I personally use Network Library for remote events, anyway, I think some people use client and Server to handle CFrame andragdolls etc to avoid the Server-Client Delay. I just want to know if you usually do this

Handling SFX on the client allows for smooth and reactive effects and decreases unwanted load on the server.