Favoriting should automatically Follow

:star:Favoriting an experience should automatically Follow it :bell:

Currently, we are able to Favorite the experiences we love and WANT to Follow.

But to Follow an experience for updates, you also need to click the Follow Icon:

I think a lot of users are missing this, and Developers who use the “Updates” feature through the Creator Dashboard are unable to reach their fans about these updates.

:exclamation: I’m not suggesting to remove/merge Follow/Favorites.

There is no API to check if a User is Following a game to give additional rewards, but that’s another feature request to be written

Please make it so when you Favorite an experience, you automatically Follow it. Allow users to make a choice of not following a Favorited place too. I believe this solution will accommodate the legacy behavior of Users using Favorites as a bookmark for games to find later while giving newer Users a better flow of receiving game updates.

As a Developer, I don’t want my players to miss the most awesome and important updates. To use a combination of group shout & other social media does not make sense when Roblox has a way for notifying opted-in players.

Thank you for reading, and I hope Roblox considers this for implementation in Q1 - Q2 2024 :heart:

45 Likes

I personally never used the follow feature. I don’t want to be bombarded with a bunch of notifications saying a game has updated. The only reason why I favourite a game is to easily find it so I can play it. I don’t care about the game’s progress on an update and so forth.

9 Likes

Disagree. It’s better UX to have them be separate options, no matter how I think of different implementation.

If the idea is to remove the Follow button and add the functionality to Favoriting, then the Favoriting button should clearly imply that additional functionality. And, the info that would need to be shown about what the button actually does would be worse UX than just having two buttons.