Feedback for abandoned Island

Hello, fellow developers!
I’m a solo dev, working on an adventure game, centered around some abandoned islands and—
Lets just get into it
So, since I’m a solo dev, I’m working on the scripts, the building, effects, and mechanics all by myself, so I guess I need some feedback on my island(s) (I’m much better at scripting than modeling/building). Currently, the atmosphere and everything is cool, but I’ve realized that when I actually play the game (as apposed to looking at it through studio), the ground seems a little empty.
Here are some screenshots

The main thing is that the ground seems a little empty, but I can’t add any small debris to fill it up, otherwise players might mistake it as something they can pick up (Since my game as an inventory system).

If you have any idea or feedback on anything, it is much appreciated

Thanks for reading! :grin:

6 Likes

Your building is great! What if you can add rubbish on the ground and some dead bushes if you can.

2 Likes

Ah, yes, dead bushes! How could I forget? Anyway, the hardest part is building it (Again, I’m a much better scripter than builder)
I’ll try to make some, and I’ll send some more screenshots

If anyone else has any other ideas, it would be much appreciated

2 Likes

The island looks simplistic If you look up reference images related to the design your going for, you will see it has a bunch of vegetation moss growing in the rocks and other elements.

I would try making the house itself look abandoned, throw some vine dirty walls and broken or cracked pieces on it to fit the style as it would improve the quality of the scene a bit more. It’s a good start, I like the overall appearance and theme you’re going for. Perhaps include some other buildings or structure of trees and dead nature objects.