Feedback on music

Hi, am back again :stuck_out_tongue: got some music for y’all that I need some feedback on.
So I was talked to make someone a scary/happy intro I wanted to know which one works best? Which one is made with GarageBand the iOS version.

For reference, I’ve been producing for 3 years, a musician for the better part of 15, and have several years of college as a music student.

In my opinion:

I don’t think the second tune fits very well as a video game track, but honestly most of that is left up to preference. For that reason, I focused on the first track.

The melody line is great. I have no complaints, it stays in the key and drives the rhythm.

Some critiques:
Your samples are really bad imo. What I mean by that is they don’t fit the timbre set by the melody line. The sub bass and clap are the most egregious. I don’t think you really need to change any part of the midi on them, just found a better sound. For the sub bass I would recommend an 808 since it sounds to me like you were shooting for a hip-hop style. The clap just sounds robotic right now so anything more natural would be an improvement.

I would also turn down the hat, and probably use less fills. The hat should just be a background presence, particularly when you have a strong rhythm in the melody, as you do here. Secondly, using fills seemingly every measure takes away from the effect. If used more sparingly, they can help drive a transition or bring interest to an otherwise repetitive line in the track.

Finally, the little electronic arp that comes into the background at around :45 seconds is very out of place to me. Up until that point you’ve established a pretty solid base for a dark hip hop beat. The weird happy tune that the arp makes is so out of place it almost sounds out of key to me. I’m not 100% sure if it actually is out of key, but because of how the notes are articulated it sounds like a major-key melody in an otherwise minor-key track. In short, I hate it.