Feedback on my first terrain island

Hi! I just made an island, and it would be nice if I got some feedback! This is one of my first projects, so please keep that in mind when you reply, please.

I used a few YT tutorials, and I understood them pretty quickly. I didn’t use any plugins, and the lighting technology is shadowmap, for anyone who wants to know!

Thanks! Play the game here:

11 Likes

I’m not that experienced with building terrains so my feedback probably won’t be as accurate but

1. Make the rocks on the right side of the river bigger so it looks more realistic because it looks the water can easily just escape (depends on how you view it) I know water can’t probably move to other places

2. The water does seem to be a bit blocky, I suggest you try going for a smoothish type? So the water has a nice flow! :+1:

3. As the person below me said “add more variety in the trees”, I agree! More variety in the trees could make it stand out more like an earthy terrain

This being your first terrain creation, I must say… You did a Fabulous job! :smiley: Keep up the good work :v:

4 Likes

Wow, amazing terrain creation! I like your use of shadows, lighting, and terrain combinations. The water does look a bit blocky, though. Try making it flow more smoothly. Another thing you could do is add more variety in the trees. Other than that, great work! Looking forward to seeing more terrain work from you. :happy2:

2 Likes

Thanks from both of you! I will definitely take this feedback into account and do something new!

1 Like

That looks really good! Here are my 2 suggestions:

1. The water is a bit bumpy in some areas (in the left side of the first two pictures). Try smoothing it out.

2. There aren’t enough trees. You could add some more trees of different sizes, and maybe even a few bushes as well.

But it looks great, your terrain is very detailed and the lighting is nice!

1 Like

This is beautiful, and I hope this is put to use!

1 Like