Feedback/Opinions on a WIP Minesweeper spin-off and Concept ideas

Hi! I’m a Programmer who does anything what comes in mind when bored.

Currently I’m developing and planning a Minesweeper spin-off game out of boredom, and I’ve been now struggling on what I should keep, add, change or remove from the game I’ve been thinking of.
While I got the base game working, the roadblock I’m dealing with is what elements should be engaging enough for people to enjoy.
The UI design and other details aren’t important for now.

Ok, but what is this game all about?

The short answer:
A minesweeper game with Lives and “Combat” system.

The long answer:
A Minesweeper game where you can fight, compete or cooperate with other people.
Although it looks like an ordinary
Instead of making everyone lose because someone stepped on a mine, you can use mines as your method of self-defense, sabotage someone’s progress by triggering a mine tile near them or use abiities/powerups that can explode nearby mines to their opponent.
And due to the combat nature of what’s said above, the grid will be constantly reset on certain areas and “Safe Zone” tiles.
Not only it’s going to be purely combat, but this will include Teams, Cooperation and Deathmatches!

Alright, but what’s stopping you from continuing the game?

Currently I’m dealing with some technical stuff, but what I’m more focused on is the ideas that I need to consider fully consistent with every other mechanic, including the base game of minesweeper.

One of the ideas I believe that’s consistent is the Safe tiles:

(Example)

This basically just acts like an empty tile, except that it’s used for people to spawn in, either be a Team or a single Player, while revealing their surroundings (and Flagging mines) for people to safely start without RNG screwing them up.

In FFA/Deathmatches, This tile spawns exactly where the user has been spawned.