Find launch angle given height, velocity, and vertex

1. What do you want to achieve? I want to calculate the launch angle given the initial height (0,-1), velocity (3000), gravity (196.2) and vertex (100,0).

2. What is the issue? I don’t know if this is the right place to ask but I figured a lot of people here are good at math so maybe someone could help.

3. What solutions have you tried so far? I’ve searched the internet and used ChatGPT to try and find an answer but I couldn’t find one. I’m not good at math so maybe I don’t know what to search for.

Sorry if this post seems lazy. I’ve been trying to figure out how to accomplish this all day but to no avail have I found an answer. What I’m trying to do is create an equation that takes into consideration zeroing, where the projectile will hit center at X meters, or in my case at the vertex (100,0). Is it possible to find the launch angle given only height, velocity, gravity and vertex?

Apologies if this was the wrong forum to ask.

What you’re looking to find is Trajectory formula/equation. The 2D Trajectory formula should be sufficient. You can google this and find all sorts of tutorials explaining it. I personally like Kahn Academy; they have great video lessons on mathematics.

Thanks for the recommendation. I currently have a ballistics system in place that moves a bullet along a trajectory given a velocity and direction. I’m just trying to incorporate zeroing of 100 studs into the direction the bullet is traveling.

I know how to calculate the angle based on range, but what I actually want to do is have the bullet hit the target at the parabola’s vertex. I’m noticing that the vertex occurs at about half the range of the trajectory, but I also need to consider the height (-1 below the camera) and the landing position which should be the vertex (same y-value as camera, or 0)

Graph