FindFirstChild only works one time

Hi i am working on a gun dealer for roleplay games but i have one issue i can buy a gun once but the second time i try i get this message: attempt to index with ‘findfirstchild’
I did search for a solution but didn’t find one. :WaitForChild isn’t working to.
(Sorry for my bad English i am Dutch :3 and this is my first time using DevForum so if i make a mistake please say it)

for i, button in pairs (script.Parent.ScrollingFrame:GetChildren()) do
	if button.Name == "TextButton" then
	button.MouseButton1Click:Connect(function()
			local Price = knop.Price.Value
			local ItemName = knop.ItemName.Value
			local Item = game.ServerStorage.Guns:FindFirstChild(ItemName)
			if Money.Value >= Price and Player.Backpack:FindFirstChild(ItemName) == nil and Player.Character:FindFirstChild(ItemName) == nil and Item:FindFirstChild("GamepassID") == nil then
				Money.Value = Money.Value - Price
				local Clone = Item:Clone()
				Item.Parent = Player.Backpack
2 Likes

I assume this is a LocalScript, correct? And on which line are you getting the error Attempt to index nil with ‘FindFirstChild’?

7th and its a ServerScript i tried using RemoteEvents but this works fine only the FindFirstChild not._.

1 Like

Maybe you can split up the big if-statement into separate lines to help figure out which thing is nil. Item itself could be nil; if so, then the revised code shouldn’t error on that anymore since it’s being checked. If it’s Backpack or Character, then you should know from the line number that produces the error.

for i, button in pairs (script.Parent.ScrollingFrame:GetChildren()) do
	if button.Name == "TextButton" then
	button.MouseButton1Click:Connect(function()
			local Price = knop.Price.Value
			local ItemName = knop.ItemName.Value
			if Item then
				local PlayerKnopItem = Player.Backpack:FindFirstChild(ItemName)
				local CharacterKnopItem Player.Character:FindFirstChild(ItemName)