First gui made. Looking for feedbacks

Hi guys, I have made my first UI and I would love to hear any feedback and tips to improve it.

I started learning UI design a month ago, so I might not be able to answer or reply very well.

Program - Adobe Illustrator

4 Likes

It’s pretty nice and consistent especially for a first UI one thing I’d say is just make sure you’re scaling everything nicely like for example the text in some parts is stretched and looks a little weird but if you scale it better and make the size more proportional it would look even better

2 Likes

Thank you for your valuable feedback! I will make sure to scale text sizes evenly!

2 Likes

Alright, let’s give it a go…

• Unless you’re planning to use 9-slice, these fancy frame borders will cost you more work than it’s worth it, you really don’t want to have a fixed size GUI these days
  • In general, it looks like those corners are just too rounded anyway, because it causes spacing issues placing other elements
  • Default (?) font doesn’t work here
  • Text in shop category tabs is clearly too big
  • Some of the smaller labels (pet amount) are hard to read and some (pet name) lacks contrast being black in darkish blue
  • Some of the butons have black text, some white

If you haven’t, I would advice trying to make GUIs in Roblox Studio first, so you would have a feel on what kind of issues people might run into while trying to transfer designs to the game.

1 Like

Thank you for your feedback! I will try and make UIs in Roblox Studio later!

I have 2 questions if you could answer it to me.

1. What do you mean by planning to use 9-slice?
  2. Which font is called to be a default font? (The font I used is called Goudy Old Style)
1 Like

9-slice is a technique that allows to have fancier borders and corners together with flexible size frames. I’m not sure if Roblox has it, many engines do.