Flag (dynamic conditions + logic gates)!

Flag

By @avodey (my main account)!

:package: Module

This uses an Assert module, and Event module, both of which I made not specifically for this. It would help if you found bugs in those!

Summary (v1.0.0)

There have been many times where I’ve run into long conditions. How would you tackle this problem?

The frame is visible if any is true:

• I’m a developer
  • I’m in studio
  • I’m playing the test game
  • I’m an admin
  • I’m the owner of the private server

And if this is true:

• This is the start place

This can be simplified, but it still would still look long. And what if one of these conditions was a private variable from another script? Forget about it.

When I came across a similar problem, I ended up setting a frame invisible in multiple different fashions just to avoid making a module like this. I would set the frame invisible, set it’s size to zero, position it out of screen… all to make it disappear if one condition was true!

What’s it for?

This module allows you to set parts of the condition from anywhere using logic gates.
It also allows you set multiple values dynamically, and get back the one with the highest priority. This has use cases that will be explained later!

I’m releasing this module because, around 4 years ago when I was relatively new to scripting, I was pondering the idea of this type of module. It would have helped! It is no longer an idea.

Logic Gates

In the module, there are 3 logic gates available.

AND: All values must be truthy
OR: At least one value must be truthy
XOR: At least one value, but not all, must be truthy

View Examples
local Flag = require(game.ReplicatedStorage:WaitForChild("Flag"))
local PanelVisible = Flag.new()

PanelVisible:Set("Developer", false)
PanelVisible:Set("Studio", true)
PanelVisible:Set("PrivateServer", false)

print(PanelVisible:Get(Flag.Enum.Gate.OR)) --> true