FPS Tutorial [Part 2]

Hello everyone and this is my third fps tutorial and is the second part! I did it as I stated in my last tutorial that I will make a tutorial on advanced systems.

Disclaimer: I am new to FPS making so please point out any errors or mistakes and I will be using the basics of this video here .

In this part we will be covering on how to make the gun aim and add idle animations.

Lets begin!

1. Aiming
Now we will be making the gun aim, I will do it a bit simpler way of trying to guess the offset instead of making an aim part.

• In the framework we will add a new CFrame variable called aimcf:

• Now make a bool and call it aiming:

• And last but not least inside the run function:

if aiming then
			--we will put something inside this shortly
		else
			--also soon
		end
--note put this under the set primary part cframe

Now finally we put in the script:

• If aiming true:
aimcf = aimcf:lerp(weaponmodule.aimcf, 0.1) --the cframe offset and the speed
  • If aiming false:
aimcf = aimcf:lerp(CFrame.new(), 0.1) --resetting the cframe

Now inside the gun module add a setting called the something like aimcframe or something.

Settings.aimcf = CFrame.new(0,0,0) * CFrame.Angles(0,0,0) --the aim offset dont do anything yet

2. Key binding
In this part we will make the gun actually aim.
lets begin!!!11111

• For aiming we dont need User Inpur Service since right mouse button can be accessed with mouse.
    Check if you have mouse variable if not:
local mouse = plr:GetMouse()

Now finally lets detect when right mouse button is pressed down:

mouse.Button2Down:Connect(function()
	-- our script will be here
end)

And when its released:

mouse.Button2Up:Connect(function()
    -- we will add our script here soon
end)

Now are you ready for the script?
Inside button down:

aiming = true

Inside button up:

aiming = false

3. Animations
In this part we will only do idle animation. I will try and explain this part as best as I can.