Free models outside of Roblox

Hello.
Hope to write in the good section. I am a developer and I make various games not only in Roblox. Roblox has a lot of free models. Can I use these models outside of Roblox? For example, in animations or games on a different game engine? If so, can I make money on this game?

1 Like

I’m not really sure how to answer this. I myself was wondering the same thing! I would probably guess you would have to have a license to use it, or if it was copyright free. I’m not sure about the money making part, but I would guess yes, because it doesn’t really matter what’s in your game. You make money off of people buying things. Hope this helped :smiley:

2 Likes

It’s possible to exports models directly from studio with a simple right click.

1 Like

That is true. But that doesn’t necessarily mean you can use it outside of Roblox. I’ve exported out of Studio into Blender with intent of importing it back into Studio. There may be terms or copyright acts that would legally prevent us from using Roblox assets outside of the platform.

3 Likes

Section 3 of the Terms of Use explains how copyright goes into play with user generated content (UGC), or assets uploaded to Roblox.

If you agree to grant this right, other users may use your UGC to create their own games and other UGC on the Service, and you will not be entitled to any revenue that those other users earn, even if they use your UGC.

This kind of answers your question, but at the same time it doesn’t. I would assume this means you can use it outside of Roblox with explicit written consent of the creator of the asset(s).

1 Like

So we have to wait for roblox to update the terms of usage.

2 Likes

Pretty sure you can’t. IANAL but check Section 6 of the Terms of Service.