Game Design 101 | How to make your game fun, enjoyable and replayable

Hi, I’m Sensei_Developer. I created the game Dummies vs Noobs as well as other games. In this brief tutorial, you will learn what makes a game fun, enjoyable and replayable.

quick notice i am not a professional game designer, i just took notes on valve games lolololo

What is ‘fun’?

The definition of fun is defined by the Oxford English Dictionary as “Light-hearted pleasure , enjoyment”. So, how do we create fun?

There are three main pillars to what makes our brains release dopamine, when doing any activity.

Impact

Humans love the feeling when they feel as they are in control, and have their mark on their environment. An example of impact would be environment destruction, manipulation of surrounding objects and problem solving.

When we, as humans, succeed in a task that has a significant and noticable influence on others or things around us, it makes us happy.

Feedback

Clicking a button is quite mundane. It’s boring, tedious and repetitive. This category is for making the more mundane, short-term tasks into something more enjoyable. Feedback is when something you do creates a feedback to you, whether that’d be auditory or visually.

Let’s take an example; the 2019 video game Call of Duty: Modern Warfare. When you fire the weapon, by manipulating your fingers into pressing buttons, you hear the gun violently recoil and create a strong and impactful gunshot sound. Upon the shot successfully hitting an enemy, it creates a satisfying feedback by creating a visual and auditory hit-mark, letting you know that you’ve hit them.

A bad example would be creating a gun that feels weak and uneventful, with no confirmation of a hit or any power to the firearm. It’s O.K to make first-person-shooters not have hitmarkers, whether you’re going for a realistic shooter or not.

Challenge