GetArrivingTeleportGui documentation should warn about teleport GUIs coming from different games

As a Roblox developer, I would like the documentation of the GetArrivingTeleportGui method of TeleportService to state the necessity of performing checks on the teleport GUI before inserting it into the PlayerGui object, because the GUI can come from a different game, which might insert unwanted content.

The current documentation provides the following sample code:

As you can see, no check is performed on the GUI, neither on the source game ID (obtainable via the GetJoinData method of the Player object. That means, if a different game sets the teleport GUI and then teleports to the game having this code, they would have this GUI on their screen for 5 seconds.

I would have appreciated if this warning was present before, as a kind person just let me know about a vulnerability in my game because of the lack of check on the provenance of the teleport GUI.

3 Likes

On a side note, I would like to highlight important details that makes the checks difficult to make:

• Using GetJoinData on a local script always returns nil in the field “SourceGameId”, no matter if the player came from a teleport from the server or the client, and no matter the game where the player comes from.
  • Unlike what SetTeleportSetting documentation states about persistence of settings, the values DO persist between games. That means, other games can carry teleport settings to another game.

That’s a terrifying undocumented feature if true. Teleports are important to my experience and right now I insert any arriving teleport gui as long as one exists because I carry the assumption that the only teleports happening to my experience are from me alone. Looks like I’ll have to reconstruct my static teleport screen instead of assuming GetArrivingTeleportGui returns my own.